[Music Monday] Star Kindler by Michael Card

From Card’s Website:

Starkindler: A Celtic Conversation Through Time features only one song written by Michael Card: the title cut,”Starkindler.”
“I wrote the melody for my wife, Susan, after I got my Celtic harp,” says Card. “Then I found an old poem and referred to it for the lyric.”
Starkindler invokes the ancient rhythms of Celtic poetry, informed by Card’s own understanding of astronomy. Mike studied physics and astronomy in college and taught at a planetarium for six years.

Songs Include:
1) Be Thou My Vision
2) Starkindler
3) Morning Has Broken
4) I Will Arise
5) Let All Things Now Living
6) The King Of Love My Shepherd Is
7) Jesus, Lover Of My Soul
8) I Heard The Voice Of Jesus Say
9) Holy God We Praise Thy Name
10) Be Thou My Vision (Reprise)

In the 90’s Celtic music was in the process of making a huge comeback. Between movies like Braveheart (paint those bottoms blue, ladies and gents!), artists like Enya and groups like Celtic Women keeping the music going, Celtic was definitely in. Michael Card released this album in 1998 and it was a success.

Blending hymns, contemporary Christian songs and his own Starkindler, with the celtic harp, Card was able to synthesize something that could appeal to a very large audience. I own this cd and have enjoyed it very much over the years. A lack of overbearing backbeat, overpowering drums and a plethora of good pronunciation all add up to songs that I enjoy listening to. Card has energy with both the harp and the guitar that keeps the songs moving along.

I’ve included a youtube video of the titular song, Starkindler:

#MusicMonday – ♪PSychic Grandma♪ ♪Comes Alive♪

Notorious PSG, the Rapping Ghostly PSychic Grandma, has released a new post-humous album this month. Titled ♪PSychic Grandma ♪Comes Alive♪, fans were delighted to hear a B side of her now infamous ♪More Dead♪ Than Alive♪ and Staying ♪that Way♪. While critics have derided this album as nothing but a PR stunt, PSG was overheard to say that she believes it’s her best work to date. Well, she did admit that her Party Album, which is still the prime suspect in the cottage collapse that propelled her to Super-Ghost Stardom, had a charm all it’s own.

The one big breakout hit from this album ♪The B to the F of the Ol’10 Z♪, is sure to amuse her long time fans. As many know, PSG is a big fan of her Lucky Charms and in this song she really goes after the leprechauns trying to steal them from her. Nobody messes with PSG’s bowl of Lucky Charms, Nobody!

I was introduced to Notorious PSG through the Belgium Boom Wave scene. While an obscure figure to the musical world at large, PSG is a veritable legend in the BBW community. Many, myself included, consider her the foundation on which the whole genre rests. I dare say that without PSG, Belgium Boom Wave wouldn’t exist today.

I won’t be including a sound clip because PSG needs everyone to go buy her new album. Being a Super Ghost-Star is a lot more work than she thought and I hope the musical community can give back twice as much as Notorious PSG has given it.


#Music Monday – ♪Dark Sky Island♪

I am not a big music fan. I do try to do a couple of #MusicMonday posts a year just to keep that “Music” category from collecting too much dust.

Dark Sky Island is Enya’s latest album, from back in 2015. All her fans have given up ever trying to get her to release anything even semi-quick, so considering there is still no news of a new album in ’21 comes as no surprise to any of us. We just keep on listening to what she has released.

This youtube embed has several of the “official” music vidoes. I recommend just listening though. Next to Amethystium, Enya is my favorite musical artist. And that should do it for 6 months for music and me.

#Music Monday – ♪Record of Lodoss War♪ Opening and Closing Song

The is the opening and closing song to the Record of Lodoss War OVA anime that I plan on reviewing next week (I believe. I’m trying the block editor again and really missing the calendar function). This is the English version, as I couldn’t find any videos of the japanese with english subtitles.

The opening song is titled Adesso E Fortuna and the closing song is named Fantasia Of The Wind. Most of the pictures in the video are from the anime but a few are from fanart sites. I plan on talking about these songs in the anime review so I am not saying much here.

#Music Monday – ♪Winterborn♪

Back in 2013 life was hard, for quite a variety of reasons. A cousin of mine had introduced me to the band Cruxshadows. I was listening to their discography as much as I could.

Came across a reference to this particular song on an old blog and thought I’d share. What better way than a Music Monday post. This is the acoustic version. You can search out the regular version on Youtube if you so desire, but this is just so much smoother.