Book Haul … ♪In a Winter♪ Wonderland♪

Well, it is a good thing I climbed that mountain on Sunday. I got in to work today and this is what I saw:

 

 

Winter is no longer coming. It is HERE!

 

Thankfully, today was also the release of Deadhouse Landing by Ian Esslemont. I loved Dancer’s Lament so much and read a couple of reviews that put Deadhouse Landing on the same level that I pulled the trigger and bought them both at our local bookstore after work today.

 

 

IMG_20171114_172840524

These are going to look good on my shelf with all the other Malazan books I own.

IMG_20171114_172908575

In the running for Best Book of the Year. 

 

 

Yep. Helping keep our local book store in business. Which brings up another story. Have patience if you’d heard me ramble about this store. The employees at this bookstore ACT like they want to go out of business. Every time I go in there I feel like I’m a bother and a nuisance. When I ordered these 2 books last week, the lady at the register actually had the gall to ask me for the isbn of the books when I asked her if she wanted the author or titles. Next time I go in, I swear I’m going to ask for “That red cover book about that famous guy. You know, the one everyone is talking about? Maybe it had a green cover and was about a women? But you know, that famous one I saw on The View 2 months ago”. Serve them right if I did that.  Same place that told me to go look on amazon for a specific hard cover edition of a book. But anyway….

Always glad to plunk down some hard cash, or plastic as the case may be, for some quality story in a dead tree.

 

bookstooge

33 thoughts on “Book Haul … ♪In a Winter♪ Wonderland♪

  1. Sounds like the employees aren’t very happy in their jobs. Maybe the whole thing is badly managed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, I’m so not ready for snow yet. And I remember you asking about my copy of Deadhouse Landing and whether or not it was paperback or hardback. Glad you found yourself a hardcover edition!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t understand this behaviour… but for me working in a bookstore would be on top of my dreamjob list. Just below ‘professional book reader’, ‘professional animal hugger’ and ‘hotel critic’

    Snow… i could have used some today, it was too hot!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These would indeed look magnificent on a bookshelf. I’ll follow your path and do the same if this series proves to be exceptional once I start it.

    I have encountered a similar bookstore owner who really didn’t seem to want to sell anything and had some sort of weird desire to ruin everyone’s day instead. Definitely ain’t every going back there. Their loss. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Manuel Antao says:

    I only liked Esslemont’s covers…the first one with the white stuff all over the place I simply hated it…:)

    Growth mindset and mindfulness sounds like liberal do gooder nonsense and they are if not handled properly. Thinking carefully about what you do benefits you and everyone else. We earn respect by giving it

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t know about you, but I’m definitely in denial about the fact that we’re already halfway through November and it’s SO cold already!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. savageddt says:

    Those covers looke awsome

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A bookstore run by people so out-of-love for books makes me even more happy about having turned almost completely digital in my reading habits. And trees are equally happy about it… 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Was this a Barnes & Noble, or a locally-owned bookstore?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Or wow, winter is here… or rather there 😉 It’s not looking anything like that on this side of the pond 😉 Awesome haul! And I don’t know what it is about local bookstores- wayyy too often I’ve had really bad customer service in local bookshops. And funnily enough, my brother just told me a story last week of going into a local bookshop where the only person in the shop spent 20 minutes on the phone, talking about politics, and ignoring him while he tried to get her attention. In the end he said he found what he was looking for, but was so fed up with the shop assistant that he decided he didn’t want to buy the book there. It’s just really sad, cos I *want* more local bookshops. Anyhoo, sorry for the schpiel 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bookstooge says:

      Good to know it’s not just me “They” are out to get then. It’s probably a VAST conspiracy reaching the highest echelons of our respective governments. Darn bookstore employees, they’re probably alien/human hybrids just waiting to eat our brains!

      I’ll be posting more wintery pix as the season progresses…

      Liked by 2 people

  11. They all scream I’M MAJESTIC AS FUCKK ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

