Come At Me Bro! |or| Jury Duty

monkey-with-a-gun

So, being an American Citizen, I have the proud duty to serve on a petit jury. This means some low life talked back to a cop while drunk, or a woman threatened to beat  her husband or the neighbors got in a literal pissing match about that bloody fence and whose land it was on.

You know, the really important things that most of us stay up late at night contemplating. The things that most adults handle, well, like adults. But no, there is a whole bunch of lowlifes who can’t, or worse,  won’t act decent and obey the laws like everybody else. So this means that I get to waste my time sitting in a jury while some scheister lawyer tries to show how it was ok for his client to break the law this time. We’re not talking about murder and death penalties and reasonable doubt here. We’re talking about suing Plumber Joe for Reason X.

I am not very happy.

40c0eb843f53a5f6c30feef16f117837

If I was a bear and not a man, I’d go into court and just eat those people.

I realize that our way of life is predicated on “Innocent until Proven Guilty” but my goodness, it sickens me to see that misused, abused, bent and down right broken.  Unfortunately, being one of the good guys, I don’t get to ignore the laws I want to or go into this with a “Guilty!” ahead of time. No matter how much I want to.

So bear with me [ROAR!] over the next couple of weeks as I grouse and complain and vent.

military-humor-come-at-me-bro-whole-9-yards

 

bookstooge

39 thoughts on “Come At Me Bro! |or| Jury Duty

  1. I’ve always found the whole jury process in the states interesting. It’s nice to hear your thoughts on being selected and having to attend it. It definitely must be lame that one individual’s inability to respect the law has to impact the lives of so many other people, even if it’s just by “stealing” their time. I guess what’s important is that every individual gets the right sentence and the right treatment. After all. If we were the one getting ready to get a sentence, we’d want the jury to be neutral and critical about all their decisions, right? 😀 😀 Thanks for being an awesome law-abiding jury-duty-fulfilling citizen. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh gross, jury duty. My husband got a summons a few months ago but to his relief he didn’t get selected. Hope you get a fast and efficient case!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ewwwww! Sorry man. It might be worth the time if it were for some big time interesting case, but no thank you. Will keep your seat warm here in the blogosphere haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      Thanks. I’m hoping my very conservative, right-wing tendencies will come to the fore and save the day.
      But I doubt the judge would look kindly upon a question of whether or not the death penalty is still in force for jay walking 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Christy Luis says:

    Your advice is in such demand, it’s almost a compliment!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Briana says:

    I’ve always been astounded by the inefficiency of the jury selection process. Several people I know have shown up at the courthouse on multiple days, and stayed there for hours, only to learn nothing was happening, and they should come back the next day, then the next day. Then finally, for example, the people decided to settle out of court and the jury is not needed after all. That’s like 100 people who showed up for the jury pool for 1, 2, or 3 full days only to do…nothing. Or they *do* select a jury but they have a pool of 100 people for the case and only actually need to go through 35 of them before selecting the final jury and alternates. The other 65 just spend at day at the courthouse, again, doing nothing. I know some people really like the jury system and like serving, but there has to be a better way of doing this stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      and settling out of court is what gets me. You don’t get paid your wages when on jury duty, so you either use up vacation time from work or take a hit.
      And that is what gets me. Somebody else is impacting my life in a meaningful way but not a good way.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I used to get called for jury duty all the time when I lived in Florida. You sit there all day, but if you have any level of education, or seem to be paying attention, or have any spark of life or intelligence in your eyes, the lawyers exclude you. They (on both sides, I think) just want the dumbest possible people, so they can bamboozle them with their mighty lawyering skills. Too bad they couldn’t filter me out before making me spend all day sitting around doing nothing.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Bookstooge says:

        Sadly, I concur with you. However, I think that is more a reflection on lawyers than on the legal system itself. But the system sure does lend itself to being manipulated. It almost makes one cynical *wink*

        Liked by 1 person

      • Briana says:

        Yeah. The one time I actually made it all the way to the courtroom to watch the selection process, it was slightly baffling to figure out whom they wanted to keep on the jury and why, though they noticeably excluded every single person who said they had been on a jury before, had been a lawyer (in a totally different field), or knew anything about the law. They also quickly axed the kid who had just turned old enough to be called.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. That charging bear scares me quite a bit….
    Crossing fingers that you don’t get selected and can keep grousing about books rather than jury duty! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think this must be God’s joke on you. I cannot imagine you on a jury. I think it’s meant as a test and you have to learn something from it. Good luck. (yes, I am laughing ….. a little ….. ) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      I got called in about 10years ago but wasn’t selected so I am hoping the same thing happens again.
      Maybe I should sing some hymns really loud and then scream out Bible verses, lol…

      Like

  8. When I watched american movies and they illustrate this kid of situation, it always sparks a feeling of uneasiness in me haha! It’s nice to hear your thoughts about it and from the perspective of someone who actually participated in it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      I wouldn’t mind being on some super important case, because then I could write a book about it and make a ton of cash. But for Jack, who drove drunk and ran over his neighbors fence? No cash there…

      Like

  9. Nice BLOG 💕 !!! ADD my BLOG too!!! Kisses 💕

    Like

  10. […] is completely up in the air right now. If I get selected for Jury Duty, then I suspect I’ll have a lot more reading time and you can expect my review numbers to […]

    Like

  11. haha nice bear puns!! I have to say I’ve always wanted to get called up for jury duty. I think fortunately issues like the ones you’ve mentioned get decided by magistrates in the UK, so if I ever get called up it’ll hopefully be for something more interesting 😉 Lots of luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Darn, I skip out for a few weeks and look at all the fun I miss!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

