The Reluctant Swordsman (The Seventh Sword #1)

c2f7fa1b84078b9267cb25381b2d56e8This review is written with a GPL 4.0 license and the rights contained therein shall supersede all TOS by any and all websites in regards to copying and sharing without proper authorization and permissions. Crossposted at WordPress, Blogspot, Booklikes & Librarything and linked at Goodreads & Mobileread by  Bookstooge’s Exalted Permission
Title: The Reluctant Swordsman
Series: The Seventh Sword #1
Author: Dave Duncan
Rating: 3 of 5 Stars
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 321
Format: Digital Edition

 

Synopsis:

Wallie dies. The End.

Ok, not really. In fact, he wakes up in the body of a magnificent warrior who is a Seventh Sword, the highest rank possible. He also wakes up into the middle of a power struggle between corrupt warriors, priests and some “gods”. Specifically, Wallie has been chose by a goddess to be the divine instrument of her will in the current game.

Forced to recognize that he is in a different world, in a different body and that the gods are real, Wallie must play along or die.

 

My Thoughts:

This had the same fingerprints as Duncan’s The Great Game trilogy. As such, there is a lot of mocking of religion in general and very not-subtle jabs at Christianity. This type of thing might not bother you at all, so your mileage is definitely going to vary from mine.

The story was great, the setup very good, the action was fast and furious and overall I really enjoyed my read.

But just like going on a picnic in a beautiful field with my wife, if I place the blanket over an ants’ nest, those little buggers are going to bite me and cause some annoyance and that’s what I’ll remember instead of the good time I had. Duncan’s jabs were like little pin pricks and it made it very hard to just sit there and enjoy my time. I’ve read enough of Duncan’s various works to know that he doesn’t always take potshots at religion and I’ve truly enjoyed those books. Therefore, it’s deliberate on his part and that just makes it all the more unpleasant.

I’m going to give the second book a chance when I cycle around to it, but if it has the same smug dismissive attitude as this one, I’ll be stopping there.

star30full-custom

 

 

bookstooge

10 thoughts on “The Reluctant Swordsman (The Seventh Sword #1)

  1. Hmmm …. I don’t mind a good argument, but when someone deliberately attempts to malign something that is perhaps not even integral to the story, it also leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I’ll be interested to know if it continues in the second book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      The big thing was the continual “religions don’t have to be logical, so stop trying to make sense of this” schtick.
      Most religions are very internally consistent. It’s only if you discount the supernatural or the fact that their god is supreme that things start falling apart.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ha love your analogy- I really get what you mean, even if the things that irritate you are different for me, if a book constantly makes jabs at something for no reason it will get on my nerves by the end and I won’t be able to focus on the good stuff as much.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. It’s difficult to remain objective when a story pushes the wrong buttons: no matter how good the writing, how compelling the characters, those little ants keep getting into the sandwiches…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Christy Luis says:

    Doh. Author jabs can ruin an otherwise perfectly good book 😕 I really super enjoyed Duncan’s newest, The Portal of One Thousand Worlds, partially because he handles Eastern religions with such care and light touches of humor. He doesn’t mention Christianity, for which I now suppose I should be thankful lol I hope your next read works out a lot better!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The imagery of the ants is hilarious 😂 Although it did pretty much ruin all your reading experience. Great review as always! Love reading it! – Trang

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahhh, totally understand your analogy. The bad always leaves a nasty lasting impression at the end of the day! Hopefully the whole religion bashing isn’t prominent in the sequel.

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

