Librarything.com Lifetime Memberships

If you’ve wondered about joining Librarything, but were put off by their 200 free book limit and balked at the onetime $25 lifetime member fee and you’d missed earlier opportunities to get a lifetime membership for free [exactly like me, how coincidental], there is now a opportunity to get a lifetime membership for free.

Join Tinycat for a 30 day free trial:

https://www.librarything.com/wiki/index.php/TinyCat

Use your librarything account when signing up and voila, you’ll get a free lifetime membership at Librarything. I can’t tell you much about tinycat except that it appears to be some sort of electronic library lending thingy. It is only a 30 day trial and there was no billing setup for me and when I looked, I had the $0 activity because I chose the Personal Library when signing up.

The plus side to having a lifetime membership at Librarything is that you can import your old Leafmarks tsv file, they have a specific option for that under their import section.

I realize that this is yet ONE MORE thing to have to deal with, especially with booklikes going all 522 for over 12hrs now. But if you need a book database, this is an option to explore. YouKneek is active there and I’m starting to crosspost my reviews there as well. No posts or comments, hence I’m still going to be using WP for all my social’y needs, but if book stats are important to you, LT has them in spades.

Finally, I don’t know how long this will last, so get it while you can.

(Thanks to Grim and YouKneeK for pointing this out before Booklikes hit the skids last evening)

 

logo4_medium

32 thoughts on “Librarything.com Lifetime Memberships

  1. I’ve been on LibraryThing for several years, and even did pay the $25 fee for lifetime membership, and I have never once regretted the investment. I don’t keep my shelves there completely well updated…usually I do batch updates of my books every couple months. But I really love the site because it keeps track of what is next in my (very, very numerous) series that I have going. Only a couple times have I not found the book I was looking for on there…and, admittedly, in those cases, it was always an ARC of a book pretty early, and it always showed up later.

    I don’t utilize the site for interaction with other users, but that’s just me, and because I’ve never really known anyone else on there.

    Overall, a really solid site for book shelving.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I bought mine several years ago too, I don’t regret it either! I used it extensively at one point, but I haven’t been as active this year.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This sounds cool- I’d never heard of it before!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YouKneeK says:

    I think LibraryThing has the steepest learning curve of any book-specific site I’ve tried, but it does also have some cool features to reward one’s perseverance in figuring things out. I’ve also found the people in the groups to be friendly and welcoming.

    The site owners’ determination to avoid comments on reviews is weird to me, though. If I ruled the world (because clearly I’d have nothing more important to worry about), they’d offer the feature but give people the option to disable them, just like people can already disable comments on their profile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      So, I am going to try an experiment for you here. I’m currently replying to your comment, which should give you a notification. Once this is posted, I’m going to assume you’ve checked the little check box for email notifications for comments and I’ll post a comment NOT in reply to you, just in reply to the post itself.
      Let me know if you get THAT email notification.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Bookstooge says:

    Ok, here’s the comment test for YouKneek. Let me know if you get an email notification or not. It might take up to 5min, as I’ve noticed that is about the time I get email notifications for new follows.

    Also, if you click the little “visit site” link in the bottom left of the post, in your feed, it will take you to that post on site. That way you don’t have to keep going outside of your feed and losing your place.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Matt Ries says:

    What is your LibraryThing handle? I looked for Bookstooge, but couldn’t find a member profile.

    Here is mine–> http://www.librarything.com/profile/mattries37315

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      BookstoogeLT. I had used the Bookstooge moniker several years ago and then deleted my account so it wasn’t available anymore. I’m not sure why I couldn’t get it again. Oh well.

      I will look you up once I login later this evening.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Transhaan says:

    Sounds interesting. While Goodreads pretty much covers me on my whole database problems, this does sound like a nice alternative.

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      If GR ever censors you, it is very good to have alternates.

      Liked by 1 person

      • This might be bringing up a whole can of worms, but when and why did Goodreads censor you? It’s never happened to me, but I have been by Amazon by calling out sexual content in certain books. How naughty do have to be? Did they delete your reveiw? Give you a warning?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Bookstooge says:

          Nope, not a can of worms at all. It is good to be reminded of why I don’t go back.

          Back when they instituted their vague censorship rules in ’13, I was part of the BBA group [badly behaving authors]. I had already gotten into it with several indy authors and had been threatened by said authors and their fans, so when I disliked a book, I blamed the author and made sure everyone knew it. Well, if you’ve read the GR tos, you can’t say anything in a review that isn’t about the book. None of my reviews were deleted, but I had a bunch “hidden” [only my friends could see it] because it didn’t fit their guidelines, but nothing specific was given. I did see people who had reviews and bookshelves deleted, willy nilly. It was not a good time to speak your mind and when I went back and wrote some test reviews, they were hidden again.
          I’m a big proponent of saying whatever I want in my review, even if it has NOTHING to do with the book. I’ll obey laws, but random rules from some body running a website, forget it. Which is why the blogging style has always appealed to me.

          Sorry for the slight epistle πŸ˜‰

          Liked by 1 person

          • Huh. You really were on the naughty list, I guess. That’s lame. So there were indy author’s who were coming after you for saying their books sucked?

            Liked by 1 person

            • Bookstooge says:

              Yep. One was a supposed marine and one of his fans got into it with me, on MY review and then he came in and started swaggering and calling me out for “harassing” one of his fans. On my review. I couldn’t believe the fan or the author. It got to the point where he told me that he would “meet me any time, any place to settle this”. That was when I reported him to good reads. Nothing happened.
              Another one was me just writing a scathing review and was told to stick my hand in a blender. That comment was deleted before I could report it.
              Good times πŸ˜€

              Like

              • Were your reviews really outside of the rules? Sounds like you were talking about the books to me.

                I’ve heard good stuff about LibraryThings. I’ll be looking for your further thoughts on it.

                Like

                • Bookstooge says:

                  What I did was make the review mainly about the authors. That’ll get you done in quicker than spit πŸ™‚

                  Like

                • Bookstooge says:

                  As for librarything, it still frustrates me. It is a completely different system of doing things. I can’t recommend it unless, like me, you need an alternate. I’m having to learn how to do things from the ground up and it isn’t very social and there is no blogging function, so I feel like I’m hogtied. I like words and I like to blab them, as you can attest to by the lengthy number of my comments πŸ˜€

                  Like

                  • You sound like my wife. I just got her an android phone for Christmas after she’s spent years with an iPhone. πŸ˜€

                    I’ve got a good thing going with Goodreads, so as long as I follow you’re example of what NOT to do and keep playing nicely with the other kids in the sandbox I should be fine over there.

                    Good luck figuring things out!

                    Liked by 1 person

  8. I checked out LIbraryThing and apparently I signed up for it at some point and yet I have no idea what it does

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      It is a site for tracking your books, not just reviews. So if you’re super into knowing all sorts of data about the books you read, and own, this is much better than GR. If you just want social, then WP is much better πŸ˜€

      I am covering all my bases until the New Years and I have to decide where to put my energy.

      Like

  9. […] joined Librarything with a free lifetime membership, thanks to some other Bookliker’s. I am using it as a backup […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

