The Hermetic Millennia (Count to the Eschaton Sequence #2)

63716d82a70f4aa37481d2157185a01cTitle: The Hermetic Millennia

Series: Count to the Eschaton Sequence #2

Author: John Wright

Rating: 3.5 of 5 Stars

Genre: SFF

Pages: 400

Format: Kindle digital edition

 

This review is written with a GPL 3.0 license and the rights contained therein shall supersede all TOS by any and all websites in regards to copying and sharing without proper authorization and permissions. Crossposted at Bookstooge.booklikes. blogspot.wordpress.com & librarything.com/catalog/BookstoogeLT by Bookstooge’s Exalted Permission.

 

 

Synopsis:

The smartest man in the world goes to sleep so he can survive until his wife comes back. However, his enemies, the Hermeticists, wake him up every couple of hundred years by running amok.

In the main story, Montrose is taken captive and used as a translator as his captors search for the Judge of the Ages, ie, Montrose. Montrose learns everything he can so he can wreak his awful and terrible vengeance upon these interlopers, only to realize in the very end that as smart as he is, he can still be outsmarted.

Ends on a cliffhanger.

 

My Thoughts: Spoilers

I did not enjoy this as much as Count to a Trillion. Part of that was the dreamlike aspect of the sequence of time. It reminded me a lot of Wolfe’s The Wizard Knight with it’s asperger syndrome main character.  It was disconcerting to have chunks of time and events passed over and simply ignored, for no apparent reason.

The overview of humanity over 7000’ish years was really interesting. Each Hermeticist got their chance to create a humanity they thought were best. Each time Montrose was awakened and set forth events to combat their ideas, which led to the downfall of said race and the arising of a new. Finding out that he was being tricked each time to reveal a strand of super-duper-puper math was something else. While Montrose is the main character and you are kind of rooting for him, he’s still an arrogant jerk so the schadenfreude was strong in me.

Make no mistake about this though, this was humanistic to its core. As such it reflects the base values of such a system. There were also times where it just felt like the author was indulging himself a little too much in his own fancy.

The cliffhanger ending was not appreciated. That was the main reason I bumped this down 1/2 star. Anyone who had read both the books so far is definitely going to continue the series. To end it like that smacked of one book being artificially broken up.

star35full

15 thoughts on “The Hermetic Millennia (Count to the Eschaton Sequence #2)

  1. bookcupidity says:

    On one hand, I can see the publishing wisdom of breaking this book up if this portion of it constituted 400 pages, but in the other? Cliffhangers blow.

    To answer your question on BL (which I have been trying to answer now for 30 minutes in BL but due to system issues, have been unable to), I will likely get my blog going here after hurtling the learning curve. I messed with it one day, realized it was a teensy but more complicated than I thought and then life happened.

    I have been quietly more active at Goodreads for the last week or three and wouldn’t you know that I got a random passive agrressive comment today on a starred only review?! Seriously, it took only days. I really have no desire to put forth an effort there and I think a decent community or social function can be had here – so yes, my plan is to WP. It may be a New Year goal at this point – Holidays are busy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      I realized, with your comment, that I am now “used to” tomes in the 700-900 page range. I blame Brandon Sanderson, Brent Weeks and Steven Erikson 🙂

      Booklikes continues to drive people away. My dashboard is drying up and the only thing saving me from raving lunacy is knowing that it’ll soon be over, for me.
      I can try to be of help here at WP but in so many ways it is still new to me. I hate to say this, but, Troy could probably give you some serious pointers and help.

      Sorry about life happening. And about GR. Less than a month eh? that just isn’t right. Well, whatever you do I trust you’ll enjoy your book times.

      Like

    • FWIW, if you’re going to still use GR, hook it up to your WP so that your reviews will be copied over automatically. There’s a button at the bottom of the GR review page that says Post to Blog and it’s copied over already formatted and I just have to drop in a few details unique to my blog page. Makes life a lot easier.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Cleo Ross says:

    Have you read any series where the writing/stories actually became better? I tend to avoid series because they often get worse, except of course, The Lord of the Rings, Lewis’ Space Trilogy, etc.

    Ah, Booklikes! I was on it for ages yesterday and couldn’t do anything. Right now I never want to see it again — however that feeling might change if it speeds up. I can’t even get to your comment on my Ben Franklin review to answer, nor can I see your comments about Booklikes or Goodreads. So frustrating!

    Are you active on Goodreads? I’m quite active there. I don’t post many reviews there though and the ones I do post, the authors are usually dead so they can’t complain. 😀 There are a couple of groups that I really enjoy for discussions, but I find that my main blog gives me good contact with other bloggers and I’ve made a couple of really good friends through it, whom I know I’ll keep contact with even if we stopped blogging. So I must say, I’m glad that you’re over on WordPress. Booklikes was a nice thought but it never worked like I anticipated it would.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bookstooge says:

      1) Yes, I have read books that got better. Nothing springs immediately to mind though, so you are right in that the trend is usually the other way.

      2) Booklikes is killing itself. It is too bad that the founders are having the year from hell [cancer,baby, moving to another country] but it IS a business. They could have at least just shut it down instead of this long, drawn out death by withdrawal.
      My question about franklin was just how come the post was only on Booklikes and not your blog?

      3) I am NOT active on GR. I have my account to stay in touch with a literal handful of people. I left in ’13 because of the censorship issue and upon my coming back, was censored within the month. I’ll not have my writing made to disappear because it discusses the author as much as the book.

      I’ve got your blog on my feed, so I read all your posts. But since it is a blogspot, there is no like button and your posts aren’t the kind that I like to drop a generic “hey, loved the post” comment. I want to contribute and most of the time I don’t have that something to contribute 🙂 But I am reading, and enjoying them.

      I think that is it? 😀

      Like

  3. Ahh, yeah, that’s the WP app. I had it on my old computer and never used it. Poking around, I don’t think there’s any way to set up an RSS feed for your managed sites, you’d have to set it up separately for each blog you wanted to see. Still an option, though.

    I have a program on my computer called Rainmeter. You can install custom desktops. I can put an RSS feed on there, now I just might set it up for my favorite WP blogs :). (See a low-res (77 kb) pic of my desktop here

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

