Far from the Madding Crowd

Far from the Madding Crowd - Thomas HardyThis review is written with a GPL 3.0 license and the rights contained therein shall supersede all TOS by any and all websites in regards to copying and sharing without proper authorization and permissions. Crossposted at Bookstooge.booklikes.blogspot.wordpress.leafmarks.com & Bookstooge’s Reviews on the Road Facebook Group by Bookstooge’s Exalted Permission.

Title: Far from the Madding Crowd

Series: —–

Author: Thomas Hardy

Rating: 4 of 5 Stars

Genre: Classic

Pages: 512

Synopsis:

The Life and Adventures of some farmers in a small English village. Sheep farmers to be specific. And one of them happens to be a beautiful, young woman.

My Thoughts:

When I read Tess of the D’Urbervilles, I developed a great hatred of Hardy’s scathing, pedantic tone. So I wasn’t looking forward to this, at all.

So imagine my surprise when I ended up loving this. Every flowery description of a back woods bucolic  village. I loved this! The tragedy, the drama, the awesome over the top’ness of it all. The wordsmithing was topnotch and practically made me want to read MORE about sheep dying because they ate clover.

A typical, victorian love story with a happy ending [for some] and a worthy end [for others]. Despite my enjoyment of this book, I won’t be reading any more by Hardy. I prefer to go out on a good note with him.

3 thoughts on “Far from the Madding Crowd

  1. silveroinks says:

    I don’t like the last 2 sentences, though.

    I highly recommend “The Cumberland Sheep Shearers” by Elizabeth Gaskell (before the thought of sheep turns boring again : -)

    http://www.lang.nagoya-u.ac.jp/~matsuoka/EG-Cumberland.html

    Like

    • Bookstooge says:

      I had to go and re-read the last 2. What didn’t you like about them? I felt like they were “true” Hardy, and that is why I’mnot reading any more of him.
      The only Gaskell I’ve read is “Wives and Daughters” and I was not impressed enough to read more of her stuff. Plus, that tv mini series “North and South” was not my cuppa and turned me off from trying the book.

      Like

      • silveroinks says:

        Simply seems self-defeating, unless the idea was only to get a sense of Hardy’s writing rather than to enjoy it where possible. I wouldn’t have really noticed if you weren’t so enthusiastic about this one.

        As for the Gaskell story, I can but point the way to the light. : -)

        Like

Leave a Reply

