2002

1-12-02-Saturday
RingWorld
-L. Niven-scifi
-79-immoral, evolutionistic, humanistic

1-19-02-Saturday
The Space Merchants
-F. Pohl-scifi
-82-some language, light plot

1-24-02-Thursday
Once A Hero
-M. A. Stackpole-fantasy
-89-excellent, gripping

2-16-02-Saturday
Star Soldiers
-A. Norton-scifi
-83-light, interesting, typical Norton
https://bookstooge.wordpress.com/2002/02/23/the-sound-and-the-furry/

3-14-02-Thursday
AngelMass
-T. Zahn-scifi
-85-some language & sexual situations, cool ideas as usual

3-24-02-Sunday
Beginning Operations
-J. White-scifi
-84-Sector General omnibus-cool

4-13-02-Saturday
SW:NJO:Star by Star
-T. Denning-scifi
-88-emotional rollercoaster. I cried when Anakin died

4-28-02-Sunday
Redemption of Althalus
-D. & L. Eddings-fantasy
-84-Eddings are now too predictable. story was not very original

5-7-02-Tuesday
Dune:House Corrino
-B. Herbert, K. Anderson-scifi
-84-interesting. not so esoterical as some of frank herberts stuff.

5-8-02-Wednesday
Voyage of the Jerle Shannara:Antrax
-T. Brooks-fantasy
-83-old world tech vs new world magic

5-11-02-Saturday
Moshe Dayan:Story of My Life
-M. Dayan-autobiography
-86-reminded me of O! Jerusalem. Very interesting and revealing

5-18-02-Saturday
Guns of the Timberland
-L. Lamour-western
-82-interesting, typical
Fair Blows the Wind
-L. Lamour-historical fiction
-83-variation on western theme

5-27-02-Monday
The Silver Chalice
-T. Costain-historical fiction
-84-about the sacred cup. screwed up theology, but engaging

5-30-02-Thursday
SW:Darksaber
-K. J. Anderson-scifi
-80-I only read this cause it deals with Callista. poor plot and pathetic badguys.

6-1-02-Saturday
Guardians of the West
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84-light and typical

6-15-02-Saturday
King of the Murgo’s
-D. Edding-fantasy
-84-light and typical

6-17-02-Monday
SW:Planet of Twilight
-B. Hambly-scifi
-80-same as Darksaber

6-22-02-Saturday
Demon Lord of Karanda
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84-the “mallorean” continues apace

6-26-02-Wednesday
Sorceress of Darshiva
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84-same

6-29-02-Saturday
Seeress of Kell
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84- “mallorean” ends

 

7-6-02-Saturday
The Dragonbone Chair
https://bookstooge.wordpress.com/2002/07/01/the-dragonbone-chair/

 

7-13-02-Saturday
Empire of the Atom
-A. E. Van Vogt-scifi
-81-dry & I didn’t understand the ending
Harvest of Stars
-P. Anderson-hard scifi
-80-too much science, not enough action

7-20-02-Saturday
The Diamond Throne
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84-good as ever
The Ruby Knight
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84- “elenium” continues

7-27-02-Saturday
SW:Attack of the Clones:Episode II
-R. A. Salvatore-scifi
-83-Anakin Skywalker continues his spiral towards Darth Vader

7-31-02-Wednesday
The Sapphire Rose
-D. Eddings-fantasy
-84- “elenium” concludes satisfactorily

8-3-02-Saturday
SW:NJO:Dark Journey
-E. Cunningham-scifi
-84-Jaina Solo is starting to become a real character, not just a 2D name

8-17-02-Saturday
https://bookstooge.wordpress.com/2002/08/17/code-of-the-woosters/

 

8-19-02-Monday
Uncle Fred in the Springtime
-P. G. Wodehouse-fiction
-84-very funny, amazing how funny the escapades of stupid people are

8-24-02-Saturday
SW:NJO:Enemy Lines:Rebel Dream
SW:NJO:Enemy Lines:Rebel Stand

-A. Allston-scifi
-86-Good! not as funny as his Xwing books, but this storyline is a serious one. cool ideas

9-7-02-Saturday
Alien Emergencies
-J. White-scifi
-84-Sector General Omnibus. I love how he makes the aliens so different yet real

9-21-02-Saturday
A Hero Born
-M. Stackpole-fantasy
-83-very good, nice twist @ the end, leaves room for sequels
The Strong Shall Live
-L. Lamour-western
-81-short stories, typical

10-6-02-Sunday
Jurassic Park
-M. Crichton-fiction
-84-good story, just full of evolutionary garbage

10-11-02-Friday
Son of a Wanted Man
-L. Lamour-western
-81-boy chooses law over outlaw

10-12-02-Saturday
Sliders:The Novel
-B. Linaweaver-scifi
-83-cool novelization of the tv show

11-10-02-Sunday
SW:NJO:Traitor
-M. Stover-scifi
-85-delved deeply into the philosophies underlying “the Force.” It was like reading a conversion story; I was disturbed

11-29-02-Friday
The Rover
-M. Odom-fantasy
-79-fodder, no originality, way too many loose ends

11-30-02-Saturday
The Far Kingdoms
-A. Cole, C. Bunch-fantasy
-78-very original, but explicitly immoral, full of betrayal and dreams not realized. man is mans only hope, gods are cruel & capricious

12-14-02-Saturday
The Stories of Ray Bradbury
-R. Bradbury-scifi
-82-this guy freaks me out. the way he writes makes u feel waht the charactes feel, usually fear, despair

12-24-02-Tuesday
Voyage of the Jerle Shannara:Morgawr
-T. Brooks-fantasy
-85-satisfactory ending while making a good stepping stone for the continuation of the Shannara storyline

12-26-02-Thursday
Veritas Project:Hangman’s Curse
-F. Peretti-christian fiction
-83-youth fiction, copied ‘arachnophobia’ way too much

12-28-02-Saturday
SW:NJO:Destiny’s Way
-W. J. Williams-scifi
-85-Jacen returns. Vergere becomes one w\ the Force. Tide turns against Yuuzhon Vong. I really liked.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s